Paleo Five-Minute Muffins

These protein-rich muffins are a delicious way to start the day. They are dense, but oh so good! This recipe came to me through a colleague and friend. She made significant changes in her diet to address some health problems and now we get to swap our favorite healthy recipes. This one is a keeper! The natural sweetness of the bananas goes a long way, so just a tablespoon of honey and a teaspoon of vanilla are enough to make these sweet enough for me. I typically add some slivered almonds on top before I bake them, which is more for aesthetics than flavor.

simple ingredients. I used peanut butter this time, but my favorite is cashew

Such simple ingredients! I used peanut butter this time, but my favorite is cashew butter.

Nut butter, honey, and bananas are an almost unbeatable combination. My favorite nut butter for this recipe is cashew because it is creamy and rich. I use flax eggs as the binder, which means the muffins don’t rise much but still taste great. The apple cider vinegar and baking soda help add some airiness to the texture as well. I was a little bit skeptical of making batter in a blender, but with a batter this sticky, it’s definitely the simplest way to go. Unless you grease the pan with butter, these are also dairy-free.

can you sense the stickiness of the batter?

Can you sense the stickiness of the batter?

The mini-muffins make an excellent contribution to brunch and the full-sized muffins are hearty enough to count as breakfast (if you pair it with a cup of coffee, of course.) Enjoy!

DSCN2009

Paleo Five-Minute Muffins via Tessa: The Domestic Diva

2 thoughts on “Paleo Five-Minute Muffins

Leave a Reply

