Feeling Strong

I consider myself a naturally sedentary person. My sister was the athletic one when we were kids, and while she was out playing soccer I was at home playing piano. Even when I was doing something active, like swimming or riding my bike, I didn’t like to push myself. Once heavy breathing and sweat were involved I was ready to call it a day.

Being sick changed all of that for me. After a week in a hospital bed, walking across the room would take me out of breath. My frailty was disturbing, to say the least. It made me long for the days when my body was capable and strong. Now that I have my health I enjoy being active and setting physical goals. Last year I joined a strength-training group and it was amazing! It was fun to work out with a group of women who were so positive and encouraging. The instructor was great about giving us options so we could go at our own pace and ability. For the first month I think my goal was just to get through the class having completed all of the exercises. Sticking with it paid off—I have upper body strength for the first time in my life and my stamina for all kinds of activities has increased.

When my favorite instructor left my gym, I joined another group of inspiring and supportive women who meet weekly for a workout. I work harder in the class then I do on my own and it feels good to cheer each other on. Embracing exercise may not seem like anything profound, but I feel grateful that I have learned to appreciate my body while I’m still fairly young. I have friends in their 60’s and 70’s who tell me how lucky I am that I take care of my body at my age. If I take care of myself now, who knows what I will be capable of in my 60’s? My aunt climbed a 14,000 ft mountain to celebrate her 60th birthday. I want to be that strong and healthy when I grow up!

Now it’s time for some of my favorite exercise music and other random link love. If you have a great workout playlist, please share in the comments.

Icona Pop I Love It

Cut Copy Lights and Music

Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings How Do I Let a Good Man Down?

White Rabbits Percussion Gun

Vampire Weekend Unbelievers

And a few random happy things: 

10 Decadent GF desserts from Food 52

Amazing Food Dioramas

Willamette Week Portland GF Dining Guide

Leave a Reply

