Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

I have long been a fan of lemon poppy seed muffins. It started with a delicately flavored, dense lemon poppy seed cake that my mom used to make. Like hers, this recipe incorporates sour cream. The sour cream enhances the tartness of the lemon, but also adds some density and feeling of richness. It is a must-have ingredient for me in any lemon poppy seed based recipe.

pretty purple poppy seeds

pretty purple poppy seeds

I have a few tips although the recipe is fairly straightforward. First, the reviewers are right—the recipe should state ½ cup of butter, not ½ a pound. Getting your butter to room temperature is important in order to make it cream properly. For the flour I used Cup 4 Cup, but you can easily use Bob’s Red Mill, Pamela’s, or another all-purpose mix. Don’t skip the sifting step! It makes gluten free baked goods a little bit lighter. Per usual, I chose to make flax-eggs for the egg substitute. This recipe calls for three eggs, and typically I look for recipes that call for two or less in order to get the texture right. I took a chance with this recipe and I wasn’t disappointed. This discovery may broaden my cake-horizons!

DSCN1739

These muffins can be enjoyed with a glaze or a frosting. I skipped the glaze called for in the recipe and instead mixed one cup of confectioner’s sugar with lemon juice until the texture was thin, but not liquid. I baked the muffins for 18 minutes and glazed them right out of the oven. A sheet of parchment paper under the cooling rack kept the kitchen from getting messy. I only glazed the muffins once and brought them warm and fresh to my book group gathering.

DSCN1742

I missed the lemon zest from the glaze and will definitely add it next time. Other than that, I was pleased with my sweet, lemony, and poppy-seed-crunchy muffins. My food nostalgia rarely leads me astray!

DSCN1743

Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins via Food 52

By sweet enough            July 2009

5 thoughts on “Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

  1. These look perfect. Wish I had one right now for my night snack. Remember the poppy seed cake we used to make?

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

