Quinoa with Moroccan Winter Squash and Carrot Stew

I forgot how delicious this is and I’m so excited to share it!

DSCN1671

This Moroccan-inspired stew is intricately spiced, rich with paprika, coriander, cumin, turmeric, ginger, cayenne and a pinch of saffron. Before serving, the stew is topped with freshly chopped mint and cilantro. The combination of spices and fresh herbs is absolutely perfect.

carrots and squash

carrots and squash

I follow the recipe almost to a T. I like a hearty stew, so I add closer to 3 cups carrots, 4 cups butternut squash, and 2 cups of chopped onion, without adjusting the liquid. Extra garlic can be added as well, if you’re that kind of cook (I am.) Smoked paprika stands up to the other spices without becoming overpowering and can easily be substituted for the sweeter variety. To make it vegan you can substitute olive oil for butter in the quinoa. The stew tastes better and better as it sits, so you can prepare it first and then start the quinoa. I was so ravenous that I chopped all of the ingredients first so I could put the stew and quinoa on the stove at the same time. Since the spices all go in at once, I find it convenient to mix them together beforehand. Other than that, just follow the directions and you can thank me later!

DSCN1664

caramelizing onions and carrots for quinoa adds depth of flavor

DSCN1665

This is a dish to satisfy your senses. It’s flavorful, colorful, and the smell will fill your kitchen. You’re welcome!

DSCN1670

Quinoa with Moroccan Winter Squash and Carrot Stew via Epicurious

Bon Appétit            January 2006

Leave a Reply

