Butternut Squash Gratin with Goat Cheese and Hazelnuts

It’s the season for brunches and potlucks. This dish a go-to for me when I have an invitation to a special event. It’s creamy and rich, but not too heavy. Since I’m allergic to eggs on top of having celiac brunches are often a sad occasion for me. Preparing something this gratifying ensures that I’ll have a warm and hearty dish to enjoy, and surprises people who think gffriendly food can’t be delicious.

DSCN1608 This recipe is best made with butternut squash, but I had a Red Kuri and Carnival squash from my Thanksgiving centerpiece that I wanted to use up, so in they went! I substituted half and half for whipping cream, but otherwise followed the recipe. Use salt and pepper liberally—it’s a necessary balance to the cream and butter. The end result is nutty, creamy, and savory. It’s absolutely perfect for a cold wintery brunch with friends.

DSCN1612

It’s hard to go wrong with a gratin! This dish is sure to please and is easy to make ahead.

DSCN1647

Butternut Squash Gratin with Goat Cheese and Hazelnuts via Epicurious

Bon Appétit            November 2007

Leave a Reply

