Overnight Steel-Cut Oats with Almond Butter and Honey

Since I avoid gluten and eggs, I’m often asked what I can have for breakfast. This recipe is one of my morning favorites. I’m not going to claim that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. All I know is that I feel best if I eat a small breakfast about half an hour after I get up. I have a habit of rushing, so my breakfast used to be a Van’s gluten free toaster waffle, devoured absentmindedly on my way to the dog park. Sometime during the past year I gave myself permission to sit down for breakfast. It’s not leisurely, maybe fifteen minutes at most, but it helps me start my day feeling grounded.

my breakfast essential

my breakfast essential

A friend of mine told me about this recipe for oatmeal made in a slow cooker. (Thanks, Deborah!) It takes me three minutes to prepare before I go to bed, then the slow cooker works its magic and it’s hot and perfectly cooked in the morning. Slow cooked oatmeal while you sleep—does it get any better?

steel-cut oats at night and the next morning

steel-cut oats at night and the next morning

DSCN1163

A few notes on the ingredients: Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Steel-Cut Oats are perfect for this recipe. Oats don’t contain gluten inherently, but they are almost always cross-contaminated because they are cut with the same machines that process wheat. For this recipe, steel-cut is also essential—oat flakes will turn to mush overnight. Maranatha Organic Creamy Almond Butter and a flavorful local honey are the perfect finishing touches. Maple syrup is the ideal substitute for honey if you would like to make this recipe vegan. I try to limit my dairy intake, so I substitute Pacific Organic Unsweetened Almond Milk for the milk in this recipe. I prefer the unsweetened because I don’t like having cane syrup added to my almond milk.

This recipe makes more than enough for my partner and me to enjoy a bowlful. If you have unconventional additions to your morning oatmeal, please share in the comments. I’m always looking for new ideas to spruce up my old favorites. I hope this starts your day off right!

DSCN1166

Overnight Steel-Cut Oats with Almond Butter and Honey via Food52.com

2 thoughts on “Overnight Steel-Cut Oats with Almond Butter and Honey

  1. Pingback: 302/365: National Oatmeal Day | Eat My Words

  2. Pingback: A Family New Year’s Tradition: Pork Chops & Sauerkraut | gffriendly

Leave a Reply

