Lemon Tarragon Chicken Salad

I hosted a tea themed baby shower for my friend Becca (twins!) and this chicken salad was perfect for tea sandwiches. To make them gf friendly I use Sonoma Teff Wraps. Microwave the tortilla for 30 seconds before adding anything and they will be soft and fold nicely into a wrap. I typically add some mixed greens if I’m making a wrap, but tonight I enjoyed just a side plate of chicken salad and a large side salad. The weather is in the 90’s this week, so I wanted a meal that wouldn’t take a lot of time in the kitchen and would taste refreshing.

DSCN1080 DSCN1074

This easy guide on how to properly poach chicken is the simplest one I’ve found. The chicken comes out properly cooked, although it doesn’t have a ton of flavor on its own. If you’re not planning to dress the chicken up you should take the time to add some extra vegetables and seasonings to the broth. If you’re gluten free—like me—it can be frustrating to discover that any prepared meat can have additives that contain gluten. Poaching my own chicken is one way I ensure what I’m eating is safe. My home-cooked chicken is also guaranteed to have less salt than a store bought, pre-cooked bird.

To accommodate my egg allergy I use grape seed oil Veganaise (look for the purple top.) I typically steer clear of dairy/egg substitutes, but this Veganaise is one ingredient I trust. If my friends notice the difference, it’s just to compliment the slight tanginess that this holds over standard mayo. I also substitute shallots for red onion, which is simply a matter of taste. With the subtle flavors of lemon and tarragon I prefer the mellowness of shallots.

DSCN1076

If you poach the chicken early, this recipe can be assembled in half an hour or less. Perfect for an easy dinner on a hot evening!

The side salad was essentially a plate of cherry tomatoes from our garden, with a few greens tossed in.  To compliment the sweetness of the tomatoes without overpowering them, I made this simple Julia Child Oil and Lemon Dressing.

DSCN1073

This weekend my parents are coming to Portland for a visit. Stay tuned for a post about our grilling adventures!

Lemon-Tarragon Chicken Salad via Epicurious

Bon Appétit             August 2001

3 thoughts on “Lemon Tarragon Chicken Salad

  1. I am so excited to be a part of your “fooding” adventures! You have already been an inspiration to me. Thanks for clueing me in, I’ll be a loyal follower.

Leave a Reply

