Grilled Halibut with Lemon-Caper Vinaigrette

New Seasons, my local grocery store, had a special on halibut and I had to take advantage. This is my favorite halibut recipe because it’s tasty and flexible. The capers add a nice saltiness, the lemon some tanginess, and the basil makes it taste fresh and summery.

DSCN1059

If you’re not in the mood to grill, this recipe works perfectly in the oven at 400°, which is typically how I make it. You can use fresh basil or dried and they are equally delicious. I knew it was ready to come out of the oven when I could start smelling it. Honestly, I use my nose to determine if fish is cooked properly and I end up with opaque, flaky fish. Depending on the thickness of your filet, they can be done roasting in as little as eight minutes. Fine Cooking also has a helpful guide to knowing when fish is cooked. Remember that fish keeps cooking for a minute after you take it out of the oven, so err on the side of a little underdone.

I served this with steamed broccoli drizzled in olive oil and lemon juice, and fingerling potatoes cut in half, boiled until just cooked, then tossed with about 1 ½ tablespoons of butter and 2-3 tablespoons of fresh snipped chives and parsley from the garden. Salt and pepper to taste, and enjoy!

See you Wednesday with another healthy, gluten free dinner!

DSCN1057

Grilled Halibut with Lemon Basil Vinaigrette via Epicurious

Bon Appetit            1995

2 thoughts on “Grilled Halibut with Lemon-Caper Vinaigrette

Leave a Reply

